MEDITATION - DEVOTIONAL


This class is taught by:

Keith Borden

Keith Borden is consistently turned on by the stillness within movement, the silence hidden in sound, and the esoteric in the everyday. I love to practice yoga, and sharing this practice that I love for the last decade has been a terrific gift. I'm very lucky. I have great teachers in my life – Jasmine Tarkeshi, Dana Flynn, David Robson, David Gellineau, Manorama, and Rabbi Joseph Gellberman – and being a student is one of the best parts of the yoga practice. The classes I offer are energetic and balanced, and are infused with playfulness and creativity. I strive to live, breathe, and offer the devotion-rich yoga that comes out of my daily home practice. I'm a singer, kirtan wallah, a bhakti yogi, and an interfaith minister. I always chant with my classes, and occasionally I play and sing during savasana. I love to experiment in my practice, and years of Muay Thai, Tai Chi, and Qi Gong have taught me that all movement is healing and complementary to my sadhana. My goal is to hold a space that fosters inner quiet, true strength, and a healthy, joyous spirit where students can re-unite with and REJOICE in their true Self.
There are different ways to focus the mind, and many points of concentration that can lead the mind to a place of clarity and tranquility. When the names and forms of God are the tools of meditation, it becomes bhakti marga or the path to realization through the adoration of the Divine. The Thursday evening meditation class will explore sounds (the Goddess), kirtan (the singing of the names of God), mantra japa (the repetition of mantra), and murti (focus on the personified form) as ways of quieting and clearing the vrittis in order to witness the always-present still point that is our inner truth.

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Nov 30 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Dec 07 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Dec 14 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Dec 21 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Dec 28 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Jan 04 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Jan 11 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Jan 18 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Jan 25 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Feb 01 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Feb 08 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Feb 15 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Feb 22 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Mar 01 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Mar 08 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden
  • Thu Mar 15 7:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Keith Borden